safri duo

Created by marimba and vibraphone

The twill of the sound and the brilliant rhythm that is in perfect order

The childhood friends began playing together in 1977, when they joined the Tivoli Gardens Boys Guard. Formed in 1988 as Safri Duo. In 1992, they graduated from the Royal Danish Music Conservatoire. He received high praise during a concert tour of the United States in 1989, which led to his participation in the ``Percussive Arts Society International Convention'' held in Los Angeles in 1991. Also, the concert at the Médème Music Festival in France was broadcast on TV3 and Radio France in France. He came to Japan in 1990 for the performance of Minoru Miki/Marimba Spiritual II. He dedicated his ``Z Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra,'' which was premiered with the Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra in October 1992.

In 1995, he made his debut at the Melbourne Festival and a successful three-week tour of the United States, performing at the Royal Albert Hall, Carnegie Weill Recital Hall, Wigmore Hall, radio and television appearances, and performing at Schleswig. They have been invited to perform at music festivals, the Bergen International Music Festival, and the Stockholm Water Festival one after another. In 1995, he co-produced the ballet "Polakka" with the Royal Danish Ballet and produced "Fireplay" with dancer Alexander Koplin, which caused a sensation.

They play arrangements of piano pieces by Bach, Chopin, Ravel, Mendelssohn, and others very naturally and freely, as if they were original pieces for this arrangement. Many contemporary composers have been inspired by their performances and have dedicated numerous works to their works, and are also enthusiastic about premiering them. He has also made many recordings, including contemporary works, arrangements of Bach's English suites, French suites, and solo piano duo works, all of which have received high acclaim.

In 1996, concerts are scheduled for the Prague Spring Festival, the Copenhagen Year of Culture '96, the Concertgebouw in the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Italy, Belgium, France, Germany, and the United States.

Back to blog